Fri, Mar 05 | Online Event

Tokens of the New Beginnings

Spring coming celebrations
Registration is Closed

Time & Location

Mar 05, 2:00 PM – 2:30 PM EST
Online Event

About The Event

As the world is longing for a restart, it is age-old customs of renewal and rebirth we are celebrating next in our recently launched series "Geographies of Tradition,” which takes a comparative look at mirroring Romanian and American traditions. Learn more about one of the most beloved feasts in Romania, the Mărțișor (Little March) – also a powerful symbol of love, purity and new beginnings, included in the UNESCO heritage – along with the ways Americans welcome the coming of spring in the March episode of the program, created in partnership with the National Museum of Romanian Peasant in Bucharest and the Ethnographical Museum of Transylvania in Cluj-Napoca. 

Text by Ciprian Voicilă. English translation by Andreea Scridon. 

Filmed and edited by Dragoș Popa. Presented by Geanina Simion.

Don’t miss the premiere on our Facebook, IGTV and YouTube on March 5 at 2 p.m. New York & Toronto time / 11 a.m. Los Angeles & Vancouver time / 9 p.m. Bucharest time. Watch also on our website and other social media accounts anytime later.

In the photo: Mărțișor Market 2021 at the National Museum of Romanian Peasant (detail). More at https://www.facebook.com/MuzeulTaranului

Registration is Closed

Share This Event

STAY UP TO DATE

...with all our events! Sign up to get our newsletter.

CONTACT US

Romanian Cultural Institute in New York

200 East 38th Street,

New York, NY 10016

Email: office@rciusa.info

©2019 BY THE ROMANIAN CULTURAL INSTITUTE