Wed, May 06 | Online Event

Marius Turda Confronts Clear and Present Racism

A historical perspective on racism in Romania and the United States
Registration is Closed
Marius Turda Confronts Clear and Present Racism

Time & Location

May 06, 2020, 2:00 PM EDT
Online Event

About The Event

The next interlocutor in our popular series of conversations, The Leon Feraru Conferences Online, is Romanian-British historian and academic, Marius Turda, one of the world’s leading experts in racism, eugenism, and medical history. With his trademark blend of intellectual rigor and moral passion, Professor Turda will discuss racist doctrines and attitudes in Romania and the United States, past and present.

Join us live on Facebook on Wednesday, May 6, 2 p.m. New York & Toronto time / 11 a.m. Los Angeles & Vancouver time / 7 p.m. London time / 9 p.m. Bucharest time.

Watch also on our blog and other social media accounts after the show.

MARIUS TURDA is Professor in 20th Century Central and Eastern European Biomedicine and Director of the Centre for Medical Humanities at Oxford Brookes University, UK. He is the founder director of the Cantemir Institute at the University of Oxford (2012-2013) and founder of the Working Group on the History of Eugenics and Race (HRE), established in 2006. Between 2010 and 2014 he was Deputy Director, The Centre for Health, Medicine and Society. He is Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and Fellow of the Galton Institute. He has published widely on the comparative history of eugenics and race.

Registration is Closed

Share This Event