Wed, Jun 03 | Online Event

Dissecting the Leviathan: Katherine Verdery Talks Socialism and What Came Next

Registration is Closed
Dissecting the Leviathan: Katherine Verdery Talks Socialism and What Came Next

Time & Location

Jun 03, 2020, 2:00 PM EDT
Online Event

About The Event

EDIT: We’re sorry to announce that, due to unforeseen circumstances, we must re-schedule our conversation with Professor Verdery. We’ll keep you posted.

We are proud to welcome Professor KATHERINE VERDERY, one of the most influential contemporary anthropologists and the author of several seminal studies about life in socialist Romania and the post-communist transition in Eastern Europe, as the next guest in our FERARU CONFERENCES ONLINE program. Starting from her latest book, My Life as a Spy, a meticulous and fascinating reconstruction of Ceaușescu’s dictatorship through her own Securitate file, the conversation will attempt a summation of a lifelong exposure, at once intimate and scholastic, to Romania’s complicated recent history.  

Join us live on Facebook on Wednesday, June 3, 2 p.m. New York & Toronto time / 11 a.m. Los Angeles & Vancouver time / 7 p.m. London time / 9 p.m. Bucharest time. (RSVP not necessary.)

Watch also on our website and other social media accounts after the show.

Photo credit: J.C. Arevalo

Share This Event