Fri, Jan 22 | Online Event

Art Fridays: Studio Visit with Visual Artist Ana-Maria Morar

An Observational Encounter
Registration is Closed

Time & Location

Jan 22, 2:00 PM – 2:30 PM EST
Online Event

About The Event

Our Art Fridays series resumes this week with an enticing portrait of Ana-Maria Morar, a Romanian visual artist living and working in New York City. A real “observer” of the world, as she calls herself, she believes that materials can carry thoughts and feelings, hence the suave and meditative quality of her practice. Ana-Maria has been experimenting with a variety of materials and processes, and values her experiences just as much as the materials she is working with.

Ana-Maria Morar completed her undergraduate studies at University of Babes-Bolyai in Cluj-Napoca, the home of Romania’s most famous contemporary art movement, and after years of experimenting with photography she moved to the United States and enrolled at The Art Students League of New York to study sculpture with distinguished instructor and artist Leonid Lerman. Since 2013 she has devoted her time making two body of works. One is grounded in her formative childhood experiences in Romania, called EMPTYING THE INSIDE WITH A SPOON, while the other focuses on motherhood and the richness of meaning found in the mundane experiences of every-day life, entitled ONE AND UNDER.

 

Learn more about Ana-Maria Morar's artistic journey on our Facebook, IGTV and YouTube on January 22 at 2 p.m. New York & Toronto time / 11 a.m. Los Angeles & Vancouver time / 9 p.m. Bucharest time. Watch also on our website and other social media accounts anytime later.

Registration is Closed

Share This Event

STAY UP TO DATE

...with all our events! Sign up to get our newsletter.

CONTACT US

Romanian Cultural Institute in New York

200 East 38th Street,

New York, NY 10016

Email: office@rciusa.info

©2019 BY THE ROMANIAN CULTURAL INSTITUTE