Wed, Oct 21 | Live Event

Andrei Gorzo Reflects on 100 Years of Romanian Film

Registration is Closed
Andrei Gorzo Reflects on 100 Years of Romanian Film

Time & Location

Oct 21, 2020, 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM EDT
Live Event

About The Event

With his piercing critical gaze, sure sense of aesthetic orientation and in-depth knowledge of cinematic history, Andrei Gorzo is one of the most authoritative voices in Romanian film. In the next conversation of the Feraru series, the outspoken, revered critic will look back to more than a century of Romanian cinema, applying his razor-sharp skills on topics like the late collective bloom of indigenous cinema, the impact of communism on Romanian film-making, the circulation of American tropes in Romanian popular cinema and the future of the medium in a time of financial, technological and medical disruptions.

Join us live on Facebook on October 21, 2 p.m. New York & Toronto time / 11 a.m. Los Angeles & Vancouver time / 7 p.m. London time / 9 p.m. Bucharest time. Watch also on our website and other social media accounts after the show.

Andrei Gorzo studied at the National University of Theatrical and Cinematographic Art “I.L. Caragiale” in Bucharest and New York University (NYU). With a PhD in cinematography, he teaches the history of cinema and cinema ideas at NUTCA/UNATC. Between August 2017 and January 2018 he was a Fulbright visiting scholar at Stanford University. His research interests include: the aesthetics and politics of the post-2000 New Romanian Cinema, the cinema of the Cold War, and the history of found-footage filmmaking. He is the author of The Good, the Bad and the Ugly in Cinema (2009), Things that Cannot Be Said Otherwise: A way to think about cinema, from André Bazin to Cristi Puiu (2012), Images Framed in History: The century of Miklós Jancsó (2015), and The Life, the Death and and the After-Life of Film Criticism (2019). 

Photo credit: Dan Bodea 

Registration is Closed

Share This Event