Wed, Nov 18 | Live Event

Alina Bârgăoanu on Disinformation, Fake News and the Dark Side of Communication

Registration is Closed

Time & Location

Nov 18, 2020, 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM EST
Live Event

About The Event

With the next dialogue of the Feraru Conferences we descend into the hellish subterrains of the internet, boiling with hate, lies and un unbridled lust for domination, guided by Professor Alina Bârgăoanu, the Dean of the Faculty of Communication and Public Relations of the National University of Political Studies and Public Administration in Bucharest and one of the European Union’s prominent experts on online disinformation, computational propaganda, and cyberwar.

Join us live on Facebook on November 18, 2 p.m. New York & Toronto time / 11 a.m. Los Angeles & Vancouver time / 7 p.m. London time / 9 p.m. Bucharest time. Watch also on our website and other social media accounts after the show.

Dr. Alina Bârgăoanu is a Romanian communication scholar with a strong interest in digital transformation, strategic communication, fighting disinformation and regulating the digital eco-system. She is currently a member of the advisory board of the European Digital Media Observatory. She was a visiting fellow at the Center for European Studies at Harvard University (October 2018 – March 2019); in 2018, she served as a member of the High-Level Expert Group on Fake News and Disinformation Online at the European Commission. She has published extensively, both for the Romanian and the English press, on topics related to infodemic, conspiracy theories, viralisation mechanisms, public trust and government communications.

Registration is Closed

Share This Event

STAY UP TO DATE

...with all our events! Sign up to get our newsletter.

CONTACT US

Romanian Cultural Institute in New York

200 East 38th Street,

New York, NY 10016

Email: office@rciusa.info

©2019 BY THE ROMANIAN CULTURAL INSTITUTE